Writing “The End”

handwriting

What circumstances have you been dealt that were beyond your control?

Sometimes our stories don’t go as we had planned, or how we would have chosen for them to go given the chance. We can’t choose our family of origin, which for some can be a major detriment from the beginning. We don’t know when a spouse might leave, our job might be lost, or a health issue could present itself.

Lately, I have been dealing with some anxiety (which is thankfully much better). One of the things my doctor said was that I cannot control my initial reaction to a situation, but I can control my body’s response with effort. Focusing on my heart rate and breathing have been very helpful. We often have more control than what we think we do.

You may not be able to write the beginning of your story yourself, but the good news is you can control the end. What is wonderful, is that “The End” cannot be written without your permission.

In the book, Rising Strong, Brené Brown includes a quote by Maya Angelou that says, “You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.”

Brown compiled research about stories of people who were brave, fell and got back up. She was trying to determine what they have in common that allowed them to rise again. Her research found that these people recognized the power of emotion and were willing to be uncomfortable. They reckoned with their emotions through curiosity, rumbled with their stories to find truth, and were able to create a true revolution in their lives (by the way, I think this book is amazing). As she says, “The truth is that falling hurts. The dare is to keep being brave and feel your way back up.”

Whatever difficulty you may be encountering today does not have to stay difficult tomorrow. It’s in the struggle that we are able to become an even more beautiful creation full of more grace, compassion, empathy, and bravery than we could have imagined.

“Write Your Story” by Francesca Battistelli (click to listen)

I’m an empty page
I’m an open book
Write Your story on my heart
Come on and make Your mark

Author of my hope
Maker of the stars
Let me be Your work of art
Won’t You write Your story on my heart

Write Your story, write Your story
Come on and write Your story, write Your story
Won’t You write Your story on my heart

What will the end of your story be?

Blessings,

signature

One thought on “Writing “The End”

  1. What a timely post for me! Thank you for putting the cherry on top of a really long but productive weekend in sorting out “my story.” Your comment about getting back up and learning from the process of struggling really clicked. Thanks for your thoughts…they helped me clarify mine. Praise God for His grace, in so many ways!!

Leave a Reply

