Look Sideways: Wisdom from Preschoolers

baby birdThe low tire pressure light keeps coming on in my car. I took it in to the tire shop and decided to write a blog post while I waited. My portable keyboard wouldn’t work. The batteries were dead. I pecked out a few words on the touch screen, but didn’t get far. 

Today, I sat down to write the post at my desktop computer, and the keyboard wasn’t responding. What in the world was going on? A sure sign that what I have to write needs to be heard by someone.

Our credit card number was hijacked last week and we have to wait 5 days to receive new cards. I’m trying to take care of all of the dropped balls from that.

Today, before I sent my boys off to school, I made sure they took their inhalers, because this time of year God’s beautiful creation makes it so that they can’t breathe well. Additionally, I had to help my niece with her inhaler because she’s recovering from a virus and her sweet lungs are sensitive due to the flu she nearly died from this spring. I know that sounds dramatic, but it’s true.

Mess and more mess. Living in a world that is broken.

And yesterday, I waited anxiously with my mama in the doctor’s office to hear the results of a biopsy. The news was not good. Unfortunately, they found cancer in her breast which will require at least surgery and radiation…so many unknowns right now.

For me, cancer is like that person you keep seeing out and about that you would rather not see. Do you have anyone in your life like that? I’ve spent nearly every year of my life in this town. There are a lot of people I went to school and church with that still live here that I never, or next to never, see. But by golly, those individuals that I’ve had conflicts with or make me uncomfortable are the people I run into repeatedly. (If you are reading this, and I see you a lot, do not assume I don’t like you from the previous comment). I would like to stop running into cancer repeatedly.

Today I go with my husband to his appointment with his oncologist. I love her, but I wish I never had to see her again. I’d rather see her at a concert or a park, not talking about lymph nodes and white cell counts.

A couple of weeks ago I was assisting during the extended lunch time for some of the preschoolers. While they ate, the other assistant read the book Are You My Mother?. It’s about a baby bird that hatches while his mother is away and gets separated from her. He runs into various animals and objects trying to locate her, always wondering if he might have finally found his mother. At one point in the book it says he looked way, way down, and in the next scene he looked way, way up, to no avail. One of the kids hollered, “Look sideways!”

That boy needs a star for the life skills of problem solving and perseverance! What a great message: don’t ever give up!

Yesterday, my husband shared an inspirational video with me. One of the quotes in it was from Les Brown: “If life knocks you down, try and land on your back. Because if you can look up, you can get up.” You can watch it here.

So look up, look down, look sideways, whatever it takes to get you through your mess. By looking down at our little ones, they can comfort and inspire us. Looking up, we can rely on God to see us through. And, of course, look sideways at those around you who can instill courage in you and give you the strength to plod through the junk.

Matthew 6:25-34 (MSG), “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”

Blessings,

signature

7 thoughts on “Look Sideways: Wisdom from Preschoolers

  1. Thanks for sharing Amy. I will be praying for your sweet mama. And for Jason. And of course for you. Thanks for encouraging us 🙂

  2. Pingback: How ARE You Today? | Middle of the Mess

Leave a Reply

