Just Wait a Minute (a chance for something free!)

interrupted_page-28

How many times in your life have you said, “Just wait a minute?” If you have children, then the number of times you’ve used it increases dramatically. I cannot begin to count the number of times I’ve been on the phone or talking to a friend when I’ve had to pull out that phrase.

I hate being interrupted. Anything from an unwelcome phone call, or knock on the door, to a traffic jam can be annoying.

Yet sometimes there are welcome interruptions. Like today for example. When I got home from work my husband was here and we got to have lunch together. I had other plans in mind when I pulled in the driveway, but I was thankful for the interruption.

Recently, I’ve been reading Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker. I frequently read her blog and love her sense of humor. She’s made me laugh harder than about any other blogger I know.

Jen and her husband are church planters in Texas. This was not the original plan. Her husband had been a pastor at a large, wealthy suburban church, and after a series of convicting moments for both of them, he turned in his resignation without a plan. Did you read that? He gave up his job without another job lined up. Yikes!

There have been times in my life that I have seen a theme of some sort develop. Recently, that theme has involved simplicity, minimalism, and contentment. Something is prodding me towards these ideals. Interrupted provides a worldview that resonates with my heart.

My recent post of not wanting to be called a Christian any more got a lot of hits, and was shared several times. Good for me, not so good for the reputation Christians are obviously getting. Those of us in the church are somehow missing the mark. Jen states, “In a nationwide survey, 94 percent of churches either were not growing or were losing ground in the communities they serve.” Some of us don’t even seem to know there is a target. She also says, “Stick your head in the ground like an ostrich if you wish, but perhaps it would be more helpful and courageous to admit we have a problem and begin dreaming up solutions.” I’m hoping Interrupted will help me figure out a better trajectory.

If you are interested in reading Interrupted, I have a copy to share with one of you. Simply enter a comment below with how your life is being interrupted right now or why you would like to read this book, and I’ll randomly select a winner this Monday, August 18th.
The winner is Jenny Schmitt who commented on my Facebook page.

You can purchase the book here, if you just can’t wait!

signature

2 thoughts on “Just Wait a Minute (a chance for something free!)

  1. Recently, my life has been interrupted with a new job. New jobs always mean a few months of crazy schedules. During that time, we had to postpone a vacation, my husband had to start working tons of overtime because they were understaffed, and our little guy started 1st grade!

Leave a Reply

