We Can Do Hard Things: Celebrating 100

 

onestep

In the course of almost exactly one year, I have reached some encouraging milestones.

First of all, I started this blog last May. What you are currently reading is my 100th post. Somehow, I’ve managed to write at least once, if not twice, a week for nearly 365 days.

Secondly, I got to see my name in print in a magazine last week. Not to downplay the accomplishment, but it was just a small marriage devotion. However, there was something surreal about seeing my name like that.

Finally, last weekend I spoke at a retreat as the main speaker at the camp I went to as a girl and as a young adult. I went not knowing if I would know a single soul. That is a major feat in itself for this introverted girl. I was so nervous before I got up to speak that I didn’t know if my legs would support my body as I made my way to the stage. I have no idea how people manage to speak to crowds of thousands. Seventy-five women almost put me in my grave from a heart attack.

What is most exciting to me about these milestones is what they represent…overcoming an overwhelming amount of fear and persevering through some failure.

I keep a spreadsheet of my magazine and blog submissions. My track record shows I’ve received a lot more responses of no than yes. However, it also shows that I haven’t given up. I keep trying.

How do we accomplish hard things? One step at a time.

This past week I’ve been doing a lot of yard work. We had a tree this year that dropped seedlings that are sprouting up EVERYWHERE. That’s no big deal in open areas, but they are popping up in the middle of plants. I remember asking my dad years ago what could be done, and he informed me the only thing to do when they are growing in the midst of another plant is to pull them up individually by hand. (If he wasn’t right, please tell me, because this is a pain in the you know what). I’m pretty sure there are thousands of them in my yard right now where they aren’t supposed to be.

IMG_1250_edited-1 IMG_1253

As I look at my gardens, the task seems daunting. Yet the only way to rectify the situation is to start. And that requires pulling one seedling at a time.

IMG_1259 IMG_1256 IMG_1255

The last year represents getting closer to my goals one word, one post, one submission at a time. And, in my case, lots of waiting in the meantime.

My hope is that my journey might help you accomplish your own hard things!

To all who have read my posts, thank you! If you have shared a post on Twitter or Facebook, I cannot begin to offer enough words of appreciation. There have been days I’ve wondered if this venture is in vain, and someday I may decide to head another direction. However, the words of encouragement I’ve received have kept me going.

I sincerely hope you may have received some encouragement yourself during the last year of my journey with Middle of the Mess, or at least a good laugh once or twice.

I’d love for you to leave a comment telling me about one of your favorite posts. Thanks for sticking with me!

signature

 

7 thoughts on “We Can Do Hard Things: Celebrating 100

  1. Congratulations on your milestone! Forming new habits and reaching new goals can be so daunting–but time passes whether we’re working towards our goals or not. Good on you for working towards your goals!

  2. You have truly been an encouragement to me just in the short time I’ve known you. I think you’ll remember me, we met at the retreat. I am the introvert you set next to at breakfast time on Saturday. I also shared with you about my daughter being in the hospital in tremendous pain following her surgery. You’ve really helped me so much to search deep inside myself and also search for God and what He wants me to do. So thank you and I look forward to hearing more from you.

    • Oh, Michelle, thank you so much for commenting. It was truly a pleasure meeting you. We all have things we have to wrestle with. I’m always thrilled to know that even one word I’ve said has been helpful to someone.

  3. Congratulations on your milestone. I am just getting to know you as a writer. I enjoyed the way you tied the seedlings to your steps. It is so true. One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

