Too Good to Be True? Not This Time

waiting I often wonder what my life would be like without hope.

There have been days in my life I wondered how in the world I could make it through. Even breathing seemed hard.

I read a quote the other day that said this, “On particularly rough days when I’m sure I can’t possibly endure, I like to remind myself that my track record for getting through bad days so far is 100% and that’s pretty good.” There is so much truth in that! That fact alone is hope to cling to.

Recently, I read a profound story of hope. The book, The Waiting, by Cathy LaGrow (with Cindy Coloma) will release next week on May 6th. I don’t normally like biographies, but this story was simply amazing. At the age of sixteen, Minka’s life changes forever. During a sewing class picnic, a stranger takes advantage of her while she is on a walk in the woods with a friend. Minka becomes pregnant, and doesn’t even realize it at first. You see, Minka literally still thought the stork brought babies, the naive young girl that she was.

Even after giving up the baby for adoption, Minka continues to send letters to Miss Bragstad at the House of Mercy year after year inquiring about her daughter and her happiness with her adopted family. Minka never received much information in return, but she continued to write for years and make donations to the house on behalf of the daughter she was unable to raise as her own.

Little did Minka know at the age of 94 she would be reunited with her long-lost daughter. This tale of truth is crafted by Minka’s very own granddaughter. Related in a gentle, yet stirring way, this is a story you will not soon forget. Her character comes alive as an endearing soul from the very beginning.

Minka is still going strong at her current age of 102! She travels and continues to volunteer her time. She and her daughter Ruth just  taped an interview with The Today Show. So incredible! The cover is my favorite part of the whole book. It pictures Minka’s own hands holding the only photo of her and her baby she called Betty Jane (now known as Ruth). She treasured this photo for so many years, and it would become the symbol of eternal hope realized.

This past weekend I had the joy to speak to a group of women from various churches at a women’s retreat. Some of them shared their stories with me. And some of them had experienced a lifetime of pain in just a short amount of time…situations that seemed one might be unable to endure. Yet, there they were learning, growing, and seeking.

Minka is a woman who endured much tragedy in her life. The story of her attack is only one devastating circumstance among many you will learn about in the book. I am impressed by the faithfulness of this woman who continued to endure life, and even thrive, in spite of her obstacles. I cannot help but believe it is her tenacious spirit that has contributed to her long life. If only we could all mirror her resilience!

I received this book as a gift from a friend, and I cannot say enough good about it. If you choose to read it, you will be so glad you did. You can view the trailer and find out more about the book here. Look for it May 6th! hopequote

Tree image from freedigitalphotos.net

2 thoughts on “Too Good to Be True? Not This Time

Leave a Reply

