Avoidance at Its Finest

toothbrush

 

He hid them well.

It wasn’t until I did a thorough search of his room that I found them.

You see, one of my boys doesn’t like to brush his teeth. At all. His brother let me know that he had been brushing in about 5 seconds flat. To solve the problem, I bought a pair of toothbrushes that flash a light so he would know when to stop brushing.

My son was not excited about my new purchase. After two uses, they both mysteriously disappeared. When questioned, he met me with a shrug.

After some detective work, using my skills I learned as a kid from Nancy Drew, I finally found them in the crack of his bed between the frame and the box springs.

Truth is, brushing his teeth in the back makes him gag. This is uncomfortable. And unpleasant. And just seems unnecessary to a little guy.

However, if he develops cavities due to his shenanigans, he’ll wish he had used those toothbrushes that can light up the dark. The drill, gas, injection, and such that would accompany a filling would be most distasteful. Brushing for a whole minute would pale in comparison.

This little experience made me wonder what kind of things in my own life I tend to avoid. And then I thought about all of you, and wondered what kind of things you might avoid, too.

The doctor’s visit.

The hard conversation.

Offering forgiveness.

Tackling a mess in the house.

Healthier eating choices.

Exercises to lose the weight, or simply to gain strength in a particular area of your body.

In 1 Corinthians 10:23, Paul says, ” ‘Everything is permissible’–but not everything is beneficial.” He’s referring to food here, specifically, but this idea applies to many aspects of our lives. Sure, we can do what we want, but does that necessarily get us the results we ultimately desire?

Right now I’m undergoing physical therapy for my neck. In the process, my therapist discovered I have insanely tight hamstrings (I always have). The exercises to improve my flexibility are painful. I’ve been tempted to ignore them. Yet, I know I must do them in order to fix some of the problems my body is currently experiencing. I’m sincerely hoping the temporary pain right now will be worth the gain.

It’s interesting to me how the body is interconnected. A problem in my neck can be a result of a problem in my legs. One thing leads to another. This is true in so many aspects of life. One bad decision leads to another, and pretty soon we find ourselves in a royal mess.

Think about something you may be avoiding today. Can I encourage you to take one step towards shedding some positive light on the issue? My neck hurt for a long time before I did anything about it. I could have avoided a lot of pain.

Here’s wishing you a little bit of pain right now for a whole lot of benefit later. Wish me luck in keeping track of the flashing toothbrushes!

 

Leave a Reply

