Scrapping the To Do List

to-do-list-1009468-m

 

Do you ever find yourself torn between the things that demand your attention?

I woke up before the boys one day over winter break. This kind of event doesn’t happen often. I eagerly launched into reading a book I’d pledged to read for a goal challenge set up by Jon Acuff.

Not too many chapters in, I heard the pitter-patter of feet approaching my door. My youngest threw open the door and bounded onto my bed.

“Mom! I want to snuggle!”

The list of items to do that day was a foot long. Words to read. Words to write. Floors to sweep. Vegetables to chop. Laundry to do. You get the picture.

He laid down right next to me and dug in like a tick. I tried wrapping my arm around him so I could keep on reading with my iPad in my other hand.

“No! Put that down!” he insisted.

He wanted all of me in that moment. So, I decided to not be weighted down by to-dos. I laid my iPad down on the floor and turned completely toward my little guy. I put my forehead right up against the back of his head and watched his lashes slowly open and shut as I rubbed his back. Within minutes he was asleep again, his breathing steady and even.

I love setting goals and doing what it takes to reach them. But, more importantly, I love the people in my life. I don’t ever want to let my to-do list completely usurp opportunities to spend time and be present with them. Sometimes duty calls, but when you have a little flexibility, let the ones you love take priority if you possibly can. It’s a decision that’s hard to regret.

How can you be more present in light of the must-dos in your life?

 

Photo from Stock Exchange

3 thoughts on “Scrapping the To Do List

  1. As much as I love technology, I would love to throw the phones, ipads and computers into a closet in the evenings and actually have to look at each other every once in awhile. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

