Yes, People CAN Change

ymca

At the YMCA. Proof people can change!

“You must take personal responsibility. You cannot change the circumstances, the seasons, or the wind, but you can change yourself. That is something you have charge of.” ~Jim Rohn

Have you ever found yourself doing something you never would have thought of doing in a million years? If you’ve experienced this, you know the feeling of wondering if you’ve entered an alternate dimension. You ask yourself the question, “Who am I?”

Jason and I celebrated our 13th anniversary this past week. He took some time off of work so we could spend the day together. We knew we wanted to have a nice breakfast, a nice dinner and do some Christmas shopping. (We’re wild and crazy, I know!)

But here’s the kicker. We started off our day by going to the YMCA together so I could lift weights and Jason could swim. Yes, you read that right. I went to *lift weights*. If you would have told me on our wedding day either one of us would make that suggestion 13 years in the future, I would never have believed it.

food

Our restaurant of choice? The Bonefish Grill in Greenwood. I had salmon (and steamed vegetables with spaghetti squash!), and Jason had tilapia. People, you just don’t even know how weird that is. When Jason and I first married, his only idea of a good meal was a steak at Outback.

You’ve likely heard this advice: you shouldn’t marry someone with the intention to change them. I agree this is absolutely true. But, it is amazing to see the changes that can develop over time in a spouse by his/her own choice. We can refine and shape one another for the better just by our example and following the lead of others we admire.

Jason talks less, I talk more. We both wear smaller sizes than when we got married. I’ve let go of some of my perfectionism and Jason has grown in wisdom. Unfortunately, I still can’t cook very well. Some things are difficult to change! Oh, and I will say both of our styles have changed some. Check out this lovely picture:

sweaterNo, I haven’t lost my mind…this is relevant. My sweet “little” cousin Cameron wore this awesome sweater for ugly Christmas sweater day at school. Sad thing is, friends, I owned a sweater exactly like this one. Not only did I own it, I wore it. You should have seen my collection of holiday and teacher related attire. No one should do that in their twenties! What was I thinking? Oh, you have no idea! (I know members of my family are laughing hysterically right now reading this as images of my fashion faux pas come to mind.)

Are you stuck in a rut? Frustrated with something in your life you would like to see change? There is hope! You may have to struggle or put in some hard work. Maybe you need to humble yourself a bit or take some risks. The bottom line: change is possible and you could find yourself a year from now behaving in a way you could never have even imagined.

2 thoughts on “Yes, People CAN Change

    • Winter. December. Christmas with your husband consumed with church. It will get better! You are wonderfully gifted and I know you have made changes in your own life in the time I’ve known you. Things will get better. Pick one thing and focus on it. I’ll cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

