Keeping your Teeth to Yourself: On Prayer

prayer

Don’t you just love the honesty and simplicity of small children?

My sister-in-law shared with me recently how her family is trying to make bedtime prayers more of a priority at their house. My nephew, who is two, wanted in on the action. He bowed his little head and emphatically declared: “GOD! NO BITE! AMEN!” Can you guess what he’s been struggling with lately?

Prayer holds great mystery for me. Of all aspects of my faith, I struggle with this one the most. I don’t have any trouble sharing my thanks with God, even for the hard things, but I do have a hard time believing in the power of prayer to change my circumstances. I’ve seen good prayers answered yes, some answered no, and others not yet. I’m not sure what made the difference.

My husband’s grandmother prayed wonderful prayers of faith. Her belief in God’s power acted as a firm foundation for her family. A gaping hole has been left with her absence from this earth. I see the family struggling to recapture the confidence they held in Grandma’s prayers.

I feel immense gratitude to those who storm heaven’s gates on my behalf. This is a special gift that shouldn’t be taken lightly.

The beauty of prayer, though, is that anyone can approach God. He hears every prayer from the two-year-old to the 92-year-old.

Philippians 4:6-7 “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

What aspects of prayer do you struggle with? Who do you know that is a prayer warrior for you?

Photo from Stock Exchange

Leave a Reply

