A Record of My Tears

phonecall“We have no record of your call.”

I cannot tell you the number of times I have heard that phrase in the last few years. Few words strung together aggravate me more. My mom and I heard it numerous times while trying to care for my dad. Jason and I both heard it this very week when trying to deal with two different doctors’ offices. Phone messages left that have mysteriously disappeared into thin air.

There is always another side to the story. I haven’t worked in a doctor’s office before. I don’t know the chaos the brave souls who work there have to deal with. What I do know is the frustration of trying to make a sick person well. Of desperate attempts to get answers only to be met with silence.

I’m trying to see if hospice is a good option for my dad. I haven’t heard back yet.

We have no record of your call.

We would like to know if the doctor has decided if this expensive treatment is truly necessary. The doctor was supposed to let us know.

We have no record of your call.

I’m trying to determine if my son needs further allergy testing. I was told I would get an answer a week ago.

We have no record of your call.

The road blocks I experience on this earth won’t get any easier. I don’t possess a way to prevent hearing that phrase repeatedly.

But guess what I found?

Psalm 56:8, “You know how troubled I am; you have kept a record of my tears. Aren’t they listed in your book?”

Let’s face the facts. Fewer and fewer people on this earth are keeping accurate track of our concerns. What a comfort to know at least someone is! I’m so thankful.

Are we the only ones, or have you faced this, too?

Photo from sxc.hu

Thankful-snowdrop-button-for-link-up

One thought on “A Record of My Tears

  1. Hi Amy,

    Thank you for your post.Those few words strung together in a sentence is so hard to hear, and no, you aren’t the only one. I am so thankful that our Lord notices and records everything we go through, never leaving us.

    Thanks for linking up with Scattering the Stones.

Leave a Reply

