The Beauty of “I Am”

wishesHow many times have you said it? I wish (fill in the blank) when you see someone else do something cool, amazing, or simply better than you do.

Yesterday I watched my nephew do some card tricks. As he showed me his new skills he said, “I just wish I could do it fast like the guy I saw do these.”

I believe we all should aspire to improve, and even desire greatness. Many “I wish” statements are indeed achievable. But most of the “I wish” statements I hear from people have more to do with a feeling of inferiority, and often directly relate to something which cannot physically be accomplished.

For example, some of the following would be my “I wish” statements:

I wish

1) I could sing like an angel.

2) I was incredibly athletic.

3) I was super crafty.

4) I could take amazing pictures.

5) I possessed model-quality beauty.

6) I could memorize lots of information.

7) I was more heat and cold tolerant.

8) I was more thoughtful.

Some of these could be improved with time, practice, and/or money. Don’t stop having hopes, but the problem with wishes can be that they distract you from the beauty of “I am.” These wishes minimize the abilities you already possess. Funny how the areas we excel in sometimes seem “less than” in our own eyes.

For example, I am:

1) A good teacher.

2) A great listener.

3) A growing writer.

4) Dependable and organized.

5) The mom I am supposed to be.

6) An encourager.

7) Knowledgeable about books.

8) A good researcher.

The second list took more time to come up with. Most of us don’t like to say things about ourselves that could be considered bragging. We must dig harder for the strengths we possess.

The bottom line is God created you in a special and unique way. I heard a speaker say that we should always spend some time improving our weaknesses, but the majority of our time should be spent focusing on our strengths. You will excel in areas you are gifted.

Take a few moments to write your own lists. Ask friends or family to help you identify your strengths. Find pleasure and peace in the beauty of “I am.” 

“Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.” Philippians 4:8

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of “I Am”

  1. Finally catching up with your blog. i love it so much 🙂 I could write a very similar post (at least the wishes) but even now, in my head, I feel a lot of guilt thinking about the things I am good at….sigh, I am a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

